I was hurt on the job... I had a patient that became aggressive

This is a discussion on I was hurt on the job... I had a patient that became aggressive within the Salary & Workers Compensation forum, part of the LABOR & EMPLOYMENT LAW category; I was hurt on the job (I'm a nurse) ... I had a patient that became aggressive and injured my ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 05:12 PM   #1
MIKA's Flag is: United States

Default I was hurt on the job... I had a patient that became aggressive

I was hurt on the job (I'm a nurse) ... I had a patient that became aggressive and injured my wrist/hand/arm area (and surgery may be in my future) ... This wasn't the first time the patient had become aggressive -I had referred him to social workers etc. but he (and his power of attorney/responsible party) refused help and my job did not encourage any further interventions ... I have been receiving WC at 66% of my income (a 34% income lost) - am I entitled to any kind of pain & suffering or can I take any further actions against my job and/or this man & his family.
MIKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Forming an off-shore company? We can assist you in forming your company in 40 countries worldwide.
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 10:51 PM   #2
Top Level Member

Default re: I was hurt on the job... I had a patient that became aggressive

I wish to inform you that you can file a criminal case against patient. If a person causes harm to you then that person can be held liable. You can inform law enforcement agencies regarding the fact that patient had injured your hand. Further you can claim compensation from hospital for your treatment.

AFF
AFFA is offline   Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Apr 12th, 2012, 04:58 AM   #3
Top Level Member