Labor Rights of Independent Contractors in South Africa

This is a discussion on Labor Rights of Independent Contractors in South Africa within the Salary & Workers Compensation forum, part of the LABOR & EMPLOYMENT LAW category; I am an independant contractor that has been working through an employment agency for the same company since May 2010 ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 12:50 AM   #1
Unregistered

Default Labor Rights of Independent Contractors in South Africa

I am an independant contractor that has been working through an employment agency for the same company since May 2010 for 40 hours a week. I do not pay UIF, get holiday pay or leave. This contract is my sole source of income.

The contract I had to sign states that "nothing contained in this agreement shall be considered or be construed as to establish or constitute an employment relationship between the parties. Accordingly, should the Contractor be an individual, such Contractor shall not be treated as an employee of the Company for the purposes of any of the employment laws of the Republic of South Africa".

Did I sign my basic labour rights away when I signed this contract? (meaning basic leave, UIF, etc.)
Sponsored Links
International Law Issues?
Old Jan 11th, 2011, 02:16 AM   #2
Top Level Member

Default re: Labor Rights of Independent Contractors in South Africa