Can I move out at the age of 17 in South Carolina?

This is a discussion on Can I move out at the age of 17 in South Carolina? within the Miscellaneous Topics forum, part of the OTHER LEGAL ISSUES category; i live in south carolina, and i wanted to know if i can move out at the age of 17? ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

 

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old May 5th, 2011, 12:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
Country:  
arish's Flag is: United States
 

arish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1

Unhappy Can I move out at the age of 17 in South Carolina?

i live in south carolina, and i wanted to know if i can move out at the age of 17? and if so what do i have to do to do so?!
thanks!
arish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
International Law Issues?
Old May 5th, 2011, 06:36 PM   #2
Junior Member
Country:  
SLAYER8896's Flag is: United States
 
SLAYER8896's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GEORGIA
Posts: 23

Lightbulb Re: Can I move out at the age of 17 in South Carolina?

All you have to do is buy a house and be emicpated also your parents must conset.
SLAYER8896 is offline   Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old May 5th, 2011, 11:30 PM   #3
Top Level Member
 
Lexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5,646

Default Re: Can I move out at the age of 17 in South Carolina?

A child has to be released by the court to be considered emancipated in South Carolina. There is no particular statute that covers how to get emancipated in South Carolina. There has to be a petition from either the child or an agency that cares for that child to start the emancipation procedures. When a child becomes emancipated they are asking the judge to grant them authority to do the same things as a person who has reached the Age of Majority which is or 18 or 19 years old in most states. In the State of South Carolina this age is 18. The juvenile court must be petitioned to receive the status of emancipation. If the child receives permission from the court to be emancipated then the parents or the guardians are not responsible for the child. That means they are not obligated to provide money, medical insurance or any other kind of support. Before a child gets emancipated he or she must be able to provide for themselves, handle their own money and have a legal way to make money.
There are some minimum conditions to be satisfied before the judge will make a ruling in favor of the child.
The child must be a resident of South Carolina
The child has to be at least 16 years of age
The child must be living separate and apart from the parents or guardian
The child must be capable of supporting himself or herself financially and managing his or her own affairs
Each parent or guardian must consent (exceptions are there)
Lexus is offline   Reply With Quote

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Apr 24th, 2012, 09:05 PM   #4
Hayley
Guest
 

Hayley's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default

In south carolina, you may move out without parent permission. However, you may not be consider an adult until 18. Meaning, you can live outside of your parents home without their permission but may not but tobacco, work full time, etc. You are still a minor with some slight adult perks. I was told this by a polic officer when i tried to leave at 16.
  Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Oct 24th, 2012, 12:40 AM   #5
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default

U tried...does this mean u were not allowed at 16
  Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Jun 14th, 2013, 03:09 PM   #6
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default

Haha no u cnt move out at 16 cuz with parents like mine theyll just get the cops to bring u back home....
  Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Jul 11th, 2013, 02:31 AM   #7
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexus View Post
A child has to be released by the court to be considered emancipated in South Carolina. There is no particular statute that covers how to get emancipated in South Carolina. There has to be a petition from either the child or an agency that cares for that child to start the emancipation procedures. When a child becomes emancipated they are asking the judge to grant them authority to do the same things as a person who has reached the Age of Majority which is or 18 or 19 years old in most states. In the State of South Carolina this age is 18. The juvenile court must be petitioned to receive the status of emancipation. If the child receives permission from the court to be emancipated then the parents or the guardians are not responsible for the child. That means they are not obligated to provide money, medical insurance or any other kind of support. Before a child gets emancipated he or she must be able to provide for themselves, handle their own money and have a legal way to make money.
There are some minimum conditions to be satisfied before the judge will make a ruling in favor of the child.
The child must be a resident of South Carolina
The child has to be at least 16 years of age
The child must be living separate and apart from the parents or guardian
The child must be capable of supporting himself or herself financially and managing his or her own affairs
Each parent or guardian must consent (exceptions are there)
What are the exceptions of each parent/guardian having to consent to the emancipation?
  Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Aug 18th, 2013, 05:42 PM   #8
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
What are the exceptions of each parent/guardian having to consent to the emancipation?
You can move out at 17 without parent consent. To avoid problems make sure your parents know your safe. You don't have to tell them where you are though.
  Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Aug 18th, 2013, 05:49 PM   #9
Top Level Member
Country:  
Disagreeable's Flag is: United States
 

Disagreeable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9,293

Default Re: Can I move out at the age of 17 in South Carolina?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
You can move out at 17 without parent consent. To avoid problems make sure your parents know your safe. You don't have to tell them where you are though.
Incorrect. Thx for playing though.
__________________


Due to a recent promotion, I should now be referred to as Major Obvious.

I would not be trying to provide information and knowledge if I did not sympathize.


Some days it is just not worth chewing through the restraints to face life.
Disagreeable is offline   Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old Nov 28th, 2013, 05:36 PM   #10
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
You can move out at 17 without parent consent. To avoid problems make sure your parents know your safe. You don't have to tell them where you are though.
Am i allowed to move out at 17 without going to court?
  Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Bookmark & Share

This thread has 11 replies and has been viewed 12004 times

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Format Your Messages
Add Forum to Google Toolbar
Forum Jump

Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can i move out with my parents permission at 17?-South Carolina CadetBubbles Other Family Law Matters 5 Nov 3rd, 2013 11:09 AM
Legal age to move out and age if sexual consent in Texas in 2013? Stephyy Other Family Law Matters 3 Jul 31st, 2013 09:35 AM
NEED HELP AND ANSWERS. Can I move out at 17 in South Carolina? unhappygirl Child Custody & Support 3 Oct 24th, 2011 12:09 PM
What age can my sister move out? -- age of majority (adulthood) Unregistered Other Family Law Matters 2 Jan 18th, 2011 07:11 AM
North Carolina resident got speeding ticket in South Carolina argatlin Traffic & Speeding Tickets 1 May 31st, 2008 11:58 AM


International Law Issues?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.