WORLD Law Direct Forums
Home > WORLD Law Direct Forums > OTHER LEGAL ISSUES > Miscellaneous Topics > Can I Sue for Defamation of Character? -- Ontario, Canada.

Can I Sue for Defamation of Character? -- Ontario, Canada.

This is a discussion on Can I Sue for Defamation of Character? -- Ontario, Canada. within the Miscellaneous Topics forum, part of the OTHER LEGAL ISSUES category; I live in Ontario, Canada. I graduated from high school last year, and just recently I found out that one ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 26th, 2011, 02:21 AM   #1
Unregistered

Default Can I Sue for Defamation of Character? -- Ontario, Canada.

I live in Ontario, Canada.
I graduated from high school last year, and just recently I found out that one of my old teachers has been saying things about me to her class while she is supposed to be teaching. This wasnt just a slip up either, it has been multiple times over the course of a few weeks. Things like "he's an *******" and "the most awful person Ive had to teach." And I dont think any of this is deserved because I honestly didnt do anything to her and I assumed we were getting along when she was my teacher. It isnt just me either, shes been saying things about other former students of hers too, they just havnt found out yet.
I will definitely be contacting the school board about this, but Im wondering if I can sue for defamation of character/ slander, or anything else?
And would the payoff from this be able to cover the legal fees?
I probably just sound like a kid thats pissed off at his teacher, but I am really offended by this and feel that what shes doing just isnt right.
Sponsored Links
International Law Issues?
Old Mar 26th, 2011, 06:10 AM   #2
Top Level Member

Default re: Can I Sue for Defamation of Character? -- Ontario, Canada.