WORLD Law Direct Forums
Home > WORLD Law Direct Forums > REAL ESTATE & PROPERTY LAW > Landlord vs Tenant Issues > Landlord imprisoned over negligence. Apartment fire, victim injured

Landlord imprisoned over negligence. Apartment fire, victim injured

This is a discussion on Landlord imprisoned over negligence. Apartment fire, victim injured within the Landlord vs Tenant Issues forum, part of the REAL ESTATE & PROPERTY LAW category; Lawyers please hold on to your hats. I am just getting started as the victim has not been released from ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7th, 2010, 03:57 PM   #1

Default Landlord imprisoned over negligence. Apartment fire, victim injured

Lawyers please hold on to your hats. I am just getting started as the victim has not been released from the hospital yet.

The victim is my sibling. The victim was very recently injured (hospitalized for the past 2 weeks) in an apartment fire.
There was no heat in the apartment. The cause of the fire was an electric heater which was being used to heat the victim’s apartment. The victim was lucky to get out alive….. The victim suffered upper respiratory damage for breathing in hot gas/fumes/smoke and suffered burns to her arm.

Local police and fire department are prosecuting the landlord who is also the building owner for code violations. The landlord is in jail now over this incident. The landlord had a history of repeated violations with the township and the landlord was specifically summoned regarding the lack heat in the building months prior.

Beyond the victim’s immediate needs, health, and long term prognosis, my immediate concern is that the apartment building is up for sale. My understanding is that the building may have been in foreclosure and the landlord may have been in bankruptcy.