Abandonment with adultery in Tennessee

This is a discussion on Abandonment with adultery in Tennessee within the Other Family Law Matters forum, part of the FAMILY LAW, DIVORCE, CUSTODY category; My wife had an affair ,and then abandond me. I have been stugling for nearly 2 years to keep my ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old May 28th, 2012, 02:48 PM   #1
ziggybird's Flag is: United States

Default Abandonment with adultery in Tennessee

My wife had an affair ,and then abandond me. I have been stugling for nearly 2 years to keep my home & property, as I have been laid off for quite awhile. Now she has filed for an agreed divorce, and wants me to agree to give her 35,000$ . She beleives that she has this amount vested in said house & property. Am I liable if she abandoned me?
ziggybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Doing business in China? Need legal help or advice? Contact our international and Chinese lawyers 24 hours! WORLD Law Direct offers an experienced team of American and Chinese legal professionals.
Old May 28th, 2012, 03:18 PM   #2
Top Level Member

Default Re: abandonment with adultry in tenn

I wish to inform you that the provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 36-4-121 will govern in this matter. It is stated therein that the court may award appropriate damages to a spouse, to be taken from the marital property, for pain and suffering, for alienation of affection, or for punitive damages if the spouse requesting such damages has proven by clear and convincing evidence that within one year prior to the time the divorce petition was filed the other spouse committed adultery or abandoned the spouse. If you are unable to come to a settlement with your wife, then you may place all the facts before the court which will consider the facts and decide the matter.

AFF
AFFA is offline   Reply With Quote

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No