Where can an 18 yr old live under the "Homeless Youth Act" in NY?!

This is a discussion on Where can an 18 yr old live under the "Homeless Youth Act" in NY?! within the Other Family Law Matters forum, part of the FAMILY LAW, DIVORCE, CUSTODY category; I am an 18 year old girl, and as of October 2011, I have moved to my mothers in Albany ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 23rd, 2012, 07:45 PM   #1
lauren2012's Flag is: United States

Unhappy Where can an 18 yr old live under the "Homeless Youth Act" in NY?!

I am an 18 year old girl, and as of October 2011, I have moved to my mothers in Albany NY (Saratoga County), comming from my fathers residence in Brockport NY (Monroe County). They had joint custody of me, with me residing with my father until I graduated. I am a senior in high school, and wish to graduate in my fathers school district. My mother and I just do not get along, and most of her family agrees that I should leave as soon as I can. I'm not in any danger either. There is no way that I can stay with a friend, and my father is no longer speaking to me. I have talked to the guidance counselors in both school districts, and they both said that as long as I found a place to live, I could go back to school, and by law that the district has to educate me under the "Homeless Youth Act". I am looking to see if there is a program where families temporarily take children in, for whatever reason. It may be a boarding house type situation, or just a temporary care home. I am however, unwilling to go into a shelter, as I would feel that I would be taking up the spot of a person who truly needs the help. Any additional help, or advise as to where I should start looking would be very much appreciated.

Also, I have just been informed that this week would be the best time for me to go back to Brockport.
lauren2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links