divorce in canada married in the philippines

This is a discussion on divorce in canada married in the philippines within the Divorce, Separation, Annulment forum, part of the FAMILY LAW, DIVORCE, CUSTODY category; hi i'm a newbie here and i need advice so badly i'm a naturalized canadian and got married to my ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11th, 2013, 09:10 PM   #1
confuse101's Flag is: Canada

Default divorce in canada married in the philippines

hi i'm a newbie here and i need advice so badly

i'm a naturalized canadian and got married to my temporary foreign worker husband 6 months after his divorce here in canada was granted. we are living together as husband and wife now for 6 months and i want to sponsor him. i'm worried of the following:

1. even if he is divorce here in canada before we got married, he i still married in the philippines, will the canada immigration law see that as bigamy? Philippines does not have divorce only annulment.

2. annulment is already in the process, do we have to wait for it to be granted before we apply for spouse sponsorship? my concerned was we got married here in canada before the annulment is done, will the canada immigration law see it as bigamy?

3. i now that canada family law is different from philippine family law. having said that, is my marriage with him here in canada is valid and not consider as bigamy?

4. he has 2 kids living with there mother in the philippines and we want to include them in the sponsorship, will there be any problem? is there such thing as to follow for the children to come here in canada?

thanks in advance
confuse101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11th, 2013, 09:44 PM   #2
Top Level Member

Default Re: divorce in canada married in the philippines