WORLD Law Direct Forums  



Go Back   WORLD Law Direct Forums > Business & Finance Law > Consumer Complaints
REGISTER Legal Forms FAQ Calendar SEARCH Today's Posts MARK FORUMS READ

Consumer Complaints Consumer disputes include disputes over goods and services.

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply
AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2008, 07:38 AM     #1
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Confused buying a boat

I find a boat on the internet for sale for $2400 wich was in my opinion way to low.
I e-mail the owner with the question are you sure that this boat is for sale for the $2400.
A few hours later I received a e-mail from the owner that he confirmed that this is the right price and there was an additional $400 for shipping tax.
The boat is for sale by boatsdepot.org wich has more than 200 boats for sale so I thought this should be save.
After several e-mails to boatsdepot ( never received a reply ) and the owner again who confirmed for the second time and asked for the shipping details and my phone number to proceed trough boatsdepot I never heard anything again.
Can anyone help me with this problem?

See attach e-mails


Boats for sale This is de boat.



Email address: steenbm@caribserve.net
Country: sint maarten caribbean
Comments or questions: Mike,
the hydra sports you have for sale are you sure that $2400 is the price.

From: Mike Stanfield [mailto:mikefishing67@gmail.com]

Sent: Sunday, March 02, 2008 11:43 AM

To: steenbm@caribserve.net.


The boat is still avaible for sale.It is in excellent condition.No problems and is ready to go. Runs great. This boat is set up to fish and ski.The price including the shipping taxes is 2800 usd.If you are interested in purchasing it , kindly provide me your shipping details and your phone number to proceed through Boatsdepot.org.They will advise you about the transaction details regarding shipping details and payment instruction.The delivery will be made within 4-5 days via dhl shipping service. If you are really interested in buying this boat get back to me as soon as possible because i will sell it to the first person who will agree with my price. So if you want to buy it, i am waiting for your details including shipping address and phone number.

Best Regards!

On Sun, Mar 2, 2008 at 6:26 AM, Boatsdepot.org <boats@boatsdepot.org> .


-----Original Message-----
From: Ben & Marjan van der Steen [mailto:steenbm@caribserve.net]
Sent: Monday, March 03, 2008 6:33 PM
To: Mike Stanfield
Subject: RE: Information request


Mike,
Did you receive my gmail today with my confirmation to purchase the boat and my question about the payment?

Regards,
Ben.



---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Ben van der Steen <bvandersteen4@gmail.com>
Date: Mar 5, 2008 11:48 AM
Subject: Fwd: FW: Information request
To: mikefishing67@gmail.com


dear Mike,

I send a e-mail to boatsdepot.org so far I didn`t receive any responce.
Is the boat still for sale?

Greetings Ben.



On Fri, Mar 7, 2008 at 2:36 AM, Ben van der Steen <bvandersteen4@gmail.com> wrote:

Dear Mike,

After several e-mails to boatsdepot and no answer I send them an e-mail if somebody has the decency to give me an answer if the boat is still for sale if not please can you tell me so I can look for another boat.

Mike,

Shipping details are,
Island terminal.
120 Mac Arthur Causeway.
Miami Beach FL 33139
Tel. 305 6378998.

Ben


- Hide quoted text -
On 3/7/08, Mike Stanfield <mikefishing67@gmail.com> wrote:
The final price including shipping taxes will be around 2500 usd.The payment , as well as the shipping , are handled by Boatsdepot and once you would decide to purchase the boat and provide me with your shipping details and phone number , I would start the transaction, Boatsdepot would take it from there and contact you with details on the shipping and payment processes.

Thanks!


This was the last e-mail I received,

Ben
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Powered by U.S. Legal Forms
Old 03-17-2008, 09:18 AM     #2
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Re: buying a boat

I too tried to buy from this dealer. I was told I have 30 days to wire the money via Western Union to London. I would like to know if this site is legit as I am not comfortable wiring money to someone I can not reach by phone nor contact. Seems odd, the boat price is too good to be true or is it? I would like to know if this is a legitamate sight, does any one know?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 09:38 AM     #3
msg
Top Level Member
 
msg's Avatar
 
Last Online:
05-09-2008 07:26 PM
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: buying a boat

do not EVER pay by western union for such items--it is a favorite for fraud

only use bank accounts with known reputable banks
msg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 10:30 AM     #4
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Re: buying a boat

Have you checked out this sight, if it's not legit how do they get away with all this?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 08:24 PM     #5
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: buying a boat

I checked into this same boat, received exactly same email. Has anyone checked further into this?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 02:31 PM     #6
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Re: buying a boat

I was given instructions to wire money to westernunion UK and use a secret password which I would give them when I recieve the boat. It's a great deal on the boat but is the site trustworthy? The address they gave me of their financier dept. is 2145 Hamilton Ave San Jose, Ca. Can't seem to get a phone number.....does any one know anything else?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 08:25 PM     #7
Reno
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: buying a boat

we emailed the seller at boatsdepot.org about purchasing a boat. The price was way too low so we became suspicous and found this site. He had emailed us back also asking for shipping and phone number as he did these others. This indeed must be a scam.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 11:31 AM     #8
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Re: buying a boat

Yeah I think so too, I was told that the secret password with western Union would protect me but I'm too leary. I've decided against trying it. The internet use to be a great place to buy and sell but it's becoming saturated with scams and frauds and a place for people to get ripped off. Too bad, so sad. Let me know if anyone does go through with a sale, or finds out anything else about boatsdepot. Notice there is no phone number attached to this website and it's sponsored by a realestate sales. WIERD
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 11:35 AM     #9
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Angry Re: buying a boat

I started this conversation and it is a scam, to find that out costed me $ 2700 incl. shipping tax.
Searching on the internet again looking for boatsdepot.org scam I found some forums talking about this company.
Is there nothing to do about this because it seems to be that I am not the only one.

Thanks,

Ben.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 09:55 AM     #10
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb Re: buying a boat

Bill from Buffalo NY USA.
I to replyed to add for boat on boatsdepot.org
I got the same response from Mark Johanson requesting
shiping instructions and to deal with Boatsdepot.org,
Scam==Scam
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Add Forum to Google Toolbar | Format Your Messages

Posting Rules

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
accidently, my truck & boat trailer ended up in the willamette river Unregistered Other Criminal Law Matters 0 10-23-2007 03:13 AM
i wanna get this boat off my property Unregistered Miscellaneous Topics 1 07-24-2007 12:28 PM
Boat rental release of Liability MICHIGAN Unregistered Business Contracts & Partnerships 1 06-19-2007 02:13 PM
Seeking to void a boat purchase agreement Joshua P. Consumer Complaints 4 03-30-2007 11:58 AM
Buying rental property parough Buying & Selling Property 1 03-01-2007 10:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by U.S. Legal Forms

Subscribe

Use of the Forums is subject to our Disclaimer which prohibits advertisements, solicitations or other commercial messages, and false, harassing or abusive statements. All postings reflect the views of the author but become the property of WORLD Law Direct. Questions and information submitted in the Forums are assumed inquiries for general information and not legal advice.

Copyright 2000-2008 by WORLDLawDirect.com, Inc.