Child support in Hong Kong

This is a discussion on Child support in Hong Kong within the Child Custody & Support forum, part of the FAMILY LAW, DIVORCE, CUSTODY category; I am a Canadian resident working and living in Hong Kong. I had a one night affair with a Hong ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5th, 2012, 03:22 AM   #1
Anon25's Flag is: Canada

Default Child support in Hong Kong

I am a Canadian resident working and living in Hong Kong. I had a one night affair with a Hong Kong resident - there was no contact with her before or after that evening. Four months after the incident, she informed me that she was pregnant. She was adamant in keeping the child and claimed that it was mine. I offered child support on the condition of a paternity test. For a year and a half, she refused the paternity test and harassed me at work and at home, to the point where I had to contact the police three times and made me consider leaving the country.

After almost two years of harassment from her, we are finally in court with the paternity results. The child is mine and we are negotiating the amount of child support. She currently does not have a job and initially asked for the equivalent of 30% of my gross salary. I have been negotiating with her legal aid lawyer explaining that I have another dependent (I met a wonderful woman and married after this fiasco began) and that I can not afford what she is asking for. Currently she has sole custody of the child and claiming 15-20% of my gross income for child support.

What are the options if negotiations with her lawyer for child support breaks down? Would you advice meditation at this point? I am willing to pay child support but the amount she is requesting is beyond my financial means and I would like to know the risks and available options for settling this if we don't negotiate the amount before we have to appear in court again.