What does this mean?

This is a discussion on What does this mean? within the Other Business & Finance Law Issues forum, part of the BUSINESS & FINANCE LAW category; I received an application from an international company called Spanish Property 24,they want me to fill it out and send ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply

 

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 16th, 2009, 02:10 PM   #1
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Confused What does this mean?

I received an application from an international company called Spanish Property 24,they want me to fill it out and send it back to them.It seems like they are offering me my dream job! Since they don't have an office in US,they told me that the salary will be direct deposited to my account by wire transfer,now the amount of scams out there is making me think that this is one of them.I checked out their wesite and it seemed ok.They need me to sign a contract?! before they can even offer me the job.Application is the simplest job application I've ever seen in my life! I'm kind of confused about the terms&conditions so I'm posting it on here, maybe someone will help me to understand what does it actually mean?? Thank you very much for the help in advance!



In exchange for the consideration of my job application by “24 Spanish Property, Ltd.” (hereinafter called “the Company”), I agree that:
Neither the acceptance of this application nor the subsequent entry into any type of employment relationship, either in the position applied for or any other position, and regardless of the contents of employee handbooks, personnel manuals, benefit plans, policy statements, and the like as they may exist from time to time, or other Company practices, shall serve to create an actual or implied contract of employment, or to confer any right to remain an employee of the Company, or otherwise to change in any respect the employment-at-will relationship between it and the undersigned, and that relationship cannot be altered except by a written instrument signed by the President /General Manager of the Company. Both the undersigned and the Company may end the employment relationship at any time, without specified notice or reason. If employed, I understand that the Company may unilaterally change or revise their benefits, policies and procedures and such changes may include reduction in benefits.
I authorize investigation of all statements contained in this application. I understand that the misrepresentation or omission of facts called for is cause for dismissal at any time without any previous notice. I hereby give the Company permission to contact schools, previous employers (unless otherwise indicated), references, and others, and hereby release the Company from any liability as a result of such contract.
I further understand that my employment with the Company will be probationary for a period of thirty (30) days, and further that at any time during the probationary period or thereafter, my employment relation with the Company is terminable at will for any reason by either party
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
International Law Issues?
Old Jun 17th, 2009, 05:14 PM   #2
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: What does this mean?

I also received their invitation to work for them and I also had the same questions that you have. In order for them to direct deposit my salary I would have to give them my bank routing and account number - this makes me a little nervous! If you hear anything about them please email me back at jkmiller111869@yahoo.com. I will do the same if I get any more information.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17th, 2009, 06:46 PM   #3
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Confused Re: What does this mean?

I got the same job offer and they request the same,hope anyone can tell something about this my mail is abel_rangel@hotmail.com

thaks
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23rd, 2009, 11:56 AM   #4
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: What does this mean?

Any updates on this Company? I smell a rat.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24th, 2009, 12:30 AM   #5
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: What does this mean?

I just recently got the same thing. Sound interesting but I too am leary about it. I noticed on their website oddly that their fax number is a NY area code. Weird since there isn't a US based office. If you get any further info please do email me at piywilliams@aol.com.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24th, 2009, 10:58 AM   #6
Unregistered
Guest
 

Unregistered's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: What does this mean?

It is a common scam--AVOID.

There is a lot of discussion about this type of scam on the web

You can criminally charged over the fake checks so stay away.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30th, 2009, 12:40 AM   #7
Junior Member
 

nuknuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1

Default Re: What does this mean?

Thank you very much for the info! I can't believe *******s like this would try to take advantage of people who are desperately looking for a job,in these hard times!!!! Is there a way to report them somewhere?
nuknuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmark & Share

Tags
None

This thread has 6 replies and has been viewed 385 times

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

| More

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Format Your Messages
Add Forum to Google Toolbar
Forum Jump


International Law Issues?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.