Can I Sue For Loss Of Potential Income

This is a discussion on Can I Sue For Loss Of Potential Income within the Business Contracts & Partnerships forum, part of the BUSINESS & FINANCE LAW category; I've been working in a band with a singer who recently decided he no longer wants to be involved due ...

Consult Your Own Personal Lawyer Now!
Reply  POST NEW QUESTION

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 23rd, 2011, 12:43 PM   #1
FireBrand's Flag is: United States

Default Can I Sue For Loss Of Potential Income

I've been working in a band with a singer who recently decided he no longer wants to be involved due to a misunderstanding with one of the band members. Instead of discussing the issue he has left the band and started another project. In addition to being a musician, I have also been acting as band manager, and have invested a great deal of time, effort, and incurred nearly $2,000 of expense related to getting the whole band project organized. I have not been compensated for any of my work so far, and we had an oral agreement that I would receive an additional 15% compensation on top of my wages as a musician when the band began performing in June. Since the singer has left us hanging, the rest of the band cannot perform without him, nor can we earn any money from potential future shows because of this. The band is a professional unit, and we all expected to earn a respectable amount of money during the rest of the year from performances, and also from recording and releasing a CD of original music later in the year. Can my fellow musicians and I file a claim against the singer for loss of potential income, and can I file an additional claim to recoup some of the money I have already spent/invested in the project? We cannot continue without this particular singer, and because he has chosen to part company with us, we will suffer a loss of income that will affect us. Also, the singer lives in one state, while the rest of us live ac